Spiritual Connections

Image

We have not received the spirit of the world but the Spirit who is from God, that we may understand what God has freely given us.  This is what we speak, not in words taught us by human wisdom but in words taught by the Spirit, expressing spiritual truths in spiritual words.  The man without the Spirit does not accept the things that come from the Spirit of God, for they are foolishness to him, and he cannot understand them because they are spiritually discerned.  1 Corinthians 2:12-14

The Holy Spirit show us things or presents circumstances, creating a picture, vision or path of the direction He wants us to follow.  We are to take notice of these, see their relation to one another and act upon them.  We MUST be aware of what is happening in our lives, even to the smallest degree, so as not to blindly miss what God is telling or showing us.  Nothing is inconsequential with God. 

Our spiritual ears must be open, as it is written, “No eye has seen, no ear has heard, no mind has conceived what God has prepared for those who love Him but God has revealed it to us by His Spirit.” (1 Cor. 2:9-10).

Has this…is this happening with me? Thai parade

In 2009, I took my first solo trip alone to Thailand.  On the plane, I read Greg Mortensen’s Three Cups of Tea and was especially touched by his references to the strength of the women of Korphe and their abilility to unite their village in community.  Later, in Northern Thailand, I visited a small women-owned cooperative where women had united to form a business when their husbands had either left them of died of AIDs.  Flying home, I read Somaly Mam’s book, The Road to Lost Innocence, detailing her escape from sex trafficking and how she is now an international advocate for others rescuing them from the trade.

A theme had emerged and I clearly saw it brought by the Holy Spirit. 

I was beginning to see the strength and resilVietnamese women with childiency of women under oppression in a new way.  My eyes had been opened to the atrocities happening to women around the world.  These books allowed me also to see their triumph and beauty as they mended their lives. 

Once home, I read Half the Sky: Turning Oppression into Opportunity for Women Worldwide by Nicholas Kristoff and Sheryl WuDunn which re-directed my heart forever.

I began to realize that while I had learned of these things, I could not just be an observer.  God is showing me that I need to be part of the solution to obliterate these oppressions as well as help enlighten other Christian women at home, that they, too, have strength, resiliency and beauty, and the capacity to be used be God in a much greater way — if they are open to it.

Are these coincidences?  Those who don’t believe might say yes or they might attribute them to some new age philosophy.  Me, I firmly attribute them to the Holy Spirit and his wish that I be engaged in this issue.  Why else the pressing, consistent urgent need in my heart and the constant reminders through books, movies, the media and other instances?

Coincidences or not these related events have spurred me to action.

Since 2009, I have led both a women group and a  women’s bookclub — with the purpose of learning and strengthening ourselves and learning how we can help those who are oppressed around t he world.

In 2010, I traveled to Vietnam to participate in a Habitat for Humanity projects to provide housing for those at risk for sex trafficking. 

What does my future hold and how will it be played out?  Step by step as God enlightens my spiritual ears with his vision. 

My responsibility is to be quiet, watch and listen…look for connections and signals…and keep my ear ready and tuned for the words of the Holy Spirit…then act according to his direction.

Yet when the Spirit of Truth comes, he will guide you into all truth. He will not speak on his own accord, but will speak whatever he hears and will declare to you the things that are to come.  John 16:13

Leave a Reply

