Pride brings destruction

A mosiac from Hagia Sophia, Turkey“And the king, when he heard these words was greately displeased with himself and set his heart on Daniel to deliver him and he labored till the going down of the sun to deliver him.” Daniel 3:6

In the story, King Darius had been talked into signing a decree that said all must bow down and worship him for 30 days.

The people close to the king saw his vanity and pride in himself and took advantage of it by talking him into doing something they said would bring glory to himself.  When Daniel was accused, the king saw the error of his ways and was remorseful yet could do nothing except fast and pray.  Daniel was thrown in the lions den yet survived bringing the king to the realization that Daniel’s God was to be feared and revered.

We are all vulnerable, always wanting some form of recognition  to come to ourselves. 

We must be careful and on guard for the enemy is always waiting with whispers of encouragement to tear someone else down.

“Be self-controlled and alert.  Your enemy the devil prowls around like a roaring lion looking for someone to devour.” 1 Peter 5:8

What ugliness I have been guilty of.  I feel like the king not wanting to see the light of Christ shining in others because it threatens me.  In my insecurity I want only glory and recognition for myself.  This makes me an ugly person.

Jesus, a mosaic from Hagia Sophia, Istanbul, TurkeyI repent, Jesus.  Please help me to turn from this wicked way and see the beauty and love that shines for You in others.  I bind the devil from my life and his wily ways, sewing insecurity and discontent in my heart. 

Free me, Jesus, from the deceptions of the enemy. 

Help me, Holy Spirit, to continually walk in your ways.  Open my eyes that I may clearly see the lies of the enemy in my life.

Help me to walk in love always seeing the best in others.

Help me to know that you have enough love to go around and that your love does not spread thin, going only to those who seem the most “spiritual.”

Help me to continually to meditate on this until it is gone from my life.

Leave a Reply

