To the world, my battles are without merit

Istanbul, Turkey

“So I find it to be a law that when I want to do right, evil lies close at hand. For I delight in the law of God, in my inner being, but I see in my members another law waging war against the law of my mind and making me captive to the law of sin that dwells in my members. Wretched man that I am! Who will deliver me from this body of death? Thanks be to God through Jesus Christ our Lord! So then, I myself serve the law of God with my mind, but with my flesh I serve the law of sin.” Romans 7:21-25

I want to do what’s right in my heart but it’s a struggle when every one of my senses is constantly assaulted. Sight hearing, touch, taste, smell.  A sixth? Imaginings.

Assaulted by lust, anger, sloth, gluttony, envy, idolatry, divisiveness.

I find myself constantly tempted but, to the world, my battles are without merit … it is even in opposition to me when I try to do the right thing because it (the world) sees no real wrong in the act.

Many of the areas I battle with are not wrong to the world and as a matter of fact they think I’m strange for even being concerned about them.

An example in Turkey – every day, five times a day, the Iman or Muezzin calls Muslims to prayer.  The call fills the air with a beautiful exotic song that is so alluring.  I find myself thinking of the beauty of it and how I will miss the sounds when I come home.  I find myself thinking about the beauty of being called to prayer five times a day in such a way to worship God – then I remember that this is Islam and the god is Allah.

“Now the works of the flesh are evident: sexual immorality, impurity, sensuality, idolatry, sorcery, enmity, strife, jealousy, fits of anger, rivalries, dissensions, divisions, envy, drunkenness, orgies, and things like these. I warn you, as I warned you before, that those who do such things will not inherit the kingdom of God. But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, self-control; against such things there is no law.”  Galatians 5:19-23

In my redemption, I am forgiven my sins and I have entered into a relationship with the Holy Spirit who teaches me righteousness and puts in my heart the desire to live right out of my love for my Father – and not out of my love for the world

Leave a Reply

