The wicked has no victory over me

Kas, Turkey

Kas, Turkey

They have greatly oppressed me from my youth but they have not gained the victory over me.” Psalm 129:2

This verse speaks of bearing a life time of oppression yet through God the wicked had no victory.

Many of us bear the scars of wickedness done to us in our youth.  Awful, hateful things that, from that first moment, shaped our response and approach to life.

Early on I was introduced to oppression which led to insecurity and deceit — these things shaped my childhood and poured a poor foundation for my adulthood.  It was upon this platform that I made decisions for my life.

Now, with God’s light shed on these areas I see the madness of it all.

The true character and person He intended me to be was buried beneath years and years of self-protection and compensation.

God’s light demands we face these lies and declare their untruth in our lives.

“We demolish arguments and every pretension that sets itself up against the knowledge of God, and we take captive every thought to make it obedient to Christ.” 2 Corinthians 10:5

I struggle with rejection, insecurity, body image issues, fear, complacency, procrastination, a desire for recognition …

These arguments have kept me from fully serving God.

I might be rejected.  Am I good enough?  I feel fat.  I’m afraid no one will participate.  Am I doing this just to look good in front of people?  I wait.  Then the urgency fades and I let it slip away.  I’ve lost this battle.

God’s light demands that the true spirit of the little child He intended me to be — be uncovered, resurrected and restored in Him.

Kas, Turkey“I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well.  My frame was not hidden from you when I was made in the secret place, when I was woven together in the depths of the earth.  Your eyes saw my unformed body; all the days ordained for me were written in your book before one of them came to be.” Psalm 139:14-16

“So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.” Isaiah 41:10

One thought on “The wicked has no victory over me

Leave a Reply

