Entering into 2013 through prayer

Sunrise on the beach, Seaside, Oregon

Sunrise on the beach, Seaside, Oregon

“So God blessed the seventh day and made it holy, because on it God rested from all his work that he had done in creation.” Genesis 2:3

Creation from nothingness – supernaturally inspired by God, the Father, Jesus, the Word and the Holy Spirit – who hovered over the void and brought into reality all the plans of God.  To this beginning foundation, God added life in the form of plants and animals and every creeping thing –  and then finally added man, of whom he created in his own image.

On the seventh day, God saw that that everything was good and rested.  He set the day apart from the work he had completed and delighted in his achievement.  In him was life.

Jesus, as I begin this year I need your help … You said that if I ask you for anything in your name, you will do it.  Jesus, here are my prayers –

Spiritual – God planted his essence in me when he created me in their image so we could be in communion.

Give me a vision and a sense of purpose when reading your Word – and a vision and purpose as an outcome of reading your Word.

Help me to respond to your Word with my heart and not my mind. Help me to quickly and simply obey your Word and not question or over-analyze your still, soft voice.

Remind me to check my motivations before getting involved in activities – so that what I do is bringing you glory.

Help me to see where my past giftings may no longer be my strength and reveal new and different gifts that you want played out in my life.

Relationships – As I am sustained by intimacy with God I pursue communion with others.

Help me not to be self-absorbed but to focus on loving others.  Help me to see that by doing this, all my past hurts and self-esteem issues will be healed supernaturally as an outcome of operating in your love.

Help me to be an intentional and committed friend – that I would take responsibility for cultivating intimacy with others, that I would be an attentive listener and that I would respond with time, deliberate and true attention, love and honesty.

Help me to forgive past hurts – intended and unintended – and to understand that through forgiveness, those negative strongholds no longer hold me captive.

Help me to not hold back but to trust others you bring into my life. Help me to feel safe with them as I expose my heart to them.

Help me to see that my self esteem and self worth are only established by you – my identity is in you and not in this broken, hurting world.

Help me to walk in the fruits of your Spirit and not in the fruits of this world. Convict my heart when I get angry, impatient, envious or prideful and replace those reactions with humbleness, repentance and your love.

Physical – God gives me everything I need to live a balanced life – nothing more, nothing less.

Help me to be disciplined, diligent and committed to maintaining a simple, healthy lifestyle – which is the habit of my life – and not the focus of my life.  Help me to keep all things in my life in order.

Help me to discern why I am not living a healthy, balanced life – reveal any hidden heart issues and help me to find spiritual, constructive ways to combat those issues and not seek solace through unhealthy eating habits, compulsive exercise or other self-focused idolatry.

Help me to be attentive and aware of my physical condition and seek medical attention so that I won’t be caught unawares.

Creativity – God-breathed and supernaturally inspired from God’s own plans.  Oh, the things we could create if we fully explored our God-given capabilities.  God made us in His image.  He creates beautiful things – we all have His attributes within us to create – so why don’t we carry them out?

Help me to be committed to creativity – that all of my God-given abilities would be fully manifested.

Help me to not let laziness stand in the way of creativity. Help me to not let distractions such as entertainment or social media detract me from creativity.

Rest – Our remembrance of and delight in God’s achievement in and through our lives.

Help me to take time away from life and spend intimate moments with you – reflecting on your goodness and your love for me – and on my love for you.

Help me to see the beauty of your creation, help me to have hope in the unlovely and remind me to have faith in your plans – that for those who love God all things work together for good, for those who are called according to his purpose. (Romans 8:28)

Help me to remember your words as I go about my daily life and let them be a rule, “Peace I leave with you; my peace I give to you. Not as the world gives do I give to you. Let not your hearts be troubled, neither let them be afraid.” (John 14:27)

Leave a Reply

