Surrender

dahlia“She was deeply distressed and prayed to the Lord and wept bitterly.” 1 Samuel 3:10

The one thing in the world Hannah deeply wanted she couldn’t make happen.  In grief, she cried out to the Lord in final surrender and acknowledgement of her own inability and weakness.

Hannah laid down the idol worship of her most desperate desire, promising it to the Lord.

Surrender?  God wants nothing, not even my deepest wants,  to stand in the way of my love for him or in my ability to receive his love and blessing.

Those things we deeply want become our idols.  We can focus on them to the point of obsession, saying “My life will be complete when … I have a great job, am financially secure, am married, have children, am famous, am healthy and fit …”  The list goes on. 

We try to satiate the emptiness of our soul by filling it with ideals, things or people.  But God is the only one who can fill that space in our hearts … because he created it to be filled with himself. 

Where is God in my life?  Have I relegated him to a position lower than my desires?

Lord, I pray that I would put nothing above you.  Help me to continually acknowledge my desperate need for you, to cry out to you, surrendering the things I have placed in too high of a position in my life.   Help me to sacrifice my ideas of what my life should be like … help me to release my expectations and desires to you.  Help me to put away my mundane, mindless activities that constantly consume my time and energy.  Convict my heart in the areas where it needs conviction.   Help me to make you first in my everything. 

Thank you for knowing me, loving me and  giving me just what I need and what is best for me.

Jesus, I love you.  Through you, my life has been redeemed and is being transformed.  Thank you for the communion and relationship I have with you.  Help me to always keep you at the center of my heart and acknowledge that every good gift I have comes from you.

“Every good gift and every perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of lights with whom there is no variation or shadow due to change.” James 1:17

Leave a Reply

