Praying for a sweet, simple reunion

P1000650

O God, you are my God; earnestly I seek you; my soul thirsts for you; my flesh faints for you, as in a dry and weary land where there is no water.” Psalm 63:1

A.W. Tozer’s prayer resonates … and has become my own.

“O God, I have tasted Thy goodness, and it has both satisfied me and made me thirsty for more. I am painfully conscious of my need for further grace. I am ashamed of my lack of desire. O God, the Triune God, I want to want Thee; I long to be filled with longing; I thirst to be made more thirsty still. Show me Thy glory, I pray Thee, so that I may know Thee indeed. Begin in mercy a new work of love within me. Say to my soul, ‘Rise up my love, my fair one, and come away.’ Then give me grace to rise and follow Thee up from this misty lowland where I have wandered so long.”

I pray, Holy Spirit, that you would lead me to that sweet intimacy with Christ and that I would surrender the things that have made my life complicated.

Forgive me for my legalisms, lack of focus and busyness with things that don’t really matter.

Restore me to a sweet, simple union with you.

One thought on “Praying for a sweet, simple reunion

Leave a Reply

