Comfort in the unknown

2,000 year old olive tree, Nazareth, Israel

2,000 year old olive tree, Nazareth, Israel

“As they were gathering in Galilee, Jesus said to them, “The Son of Man is about to be delivered into the hands of men, and they will kill him, and he will be raised on the third day.” And they were greatly distressed.”  Matthew 17:22-23

The disciples didn’t want their time with Jesus to end.  Even though they had already been told about the resurrection and plan of hope by Jesus and also, likely, knew of Isaiah’s prophecy, “Out of the anguish of his soul he shall see and be satisfied; by his knowledge shall the righteous one, my servant, make many to be accounted righteous, and he shall bear their iniquities,” … they were still distressed.  (Isaiah 53:11)

For years they had been walking with Jesus, bringing the message of the Kingdom of God, healing, delivering.

Now, all that was about to end and their fear of the unknown and it’s possibilities had begun.

I  have experienced great periods of restoration, great times of intimacy and prayer with God, great relationships, great seasons of life.    I would love to hold all those things tightly and stay in those moments — but I can’t.  They end … leaving an open, empty pregnant space … filled with shadows of the unknown.

My life is meant to move and change.  I believe I am meant to hold onto things and circumstances and people lightly — even those dear to me.  I must be willing to let them all go.  I must surrender them because the only person I should hold onto tightly is Jesus.    I must love him with all my heart and with all my soul and with all my mind and with all my strength.

I need to trust Jesus.  His words of hope for the disciples are also words of hope for me.  He does have a grand master plan … which includes my restoration, sanctification and reconciliation to himself.  And the same plan for others.

I see emptiness, he sees a hope and a future.  I see the unknown but if I read his word I find he has a good plan for my life and promises me he will provide what I need.

My job is to read his word, learn from him, listen to him and obey him.  My job is to take my eyes off myself and the moment, however good, and know and believe in his promises for me.   My job is to be open to be used as part of his grand plan in the lives of others.

Jesus, help me to focus not on the here and now, however good my life is.  Help me not to make any person, experience or thing an idol.  Help me to hold onto the things you’ve given me with a gentle grasp … and be willing to surrender them to you.  Help me to remember to seek your word and and apply it to my current circumstances.   Help me not to act impetuously, making wrong choices by walking in my own understanding.  Let me be willing to face the discomfort of the unknown for however long you desire so that your plans and purposes will be fulfilled in my life and in others.

Jesus, help me to truly appreciate the great seasons of my life attributing them to you … but also help me to be comfortable in the empty space and all it’s possibilities … because you are with me.

“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls.”  Mathew 11:28-29

“For I know the plans I have for you,” says the Lord. “They are plans for good and not for disaster, to give you a future and a hope.”  Jeremiah 29:11
Leave a Reply

