Dear little lamb

(Photo by Tricia Hisey)

For thus says the Lord God: Behold, I, I myself, will search for my sheep and will seek them out. As a shepherd seeks out his flock when is among his sheep that have been scattered, so will I seek out my sheep, and I will rescue them from all the places where they have been scattered on a day of clouds and thick darkness. Ezekiel 34:11-12

Dear little lamb,
I know you may think you’ve screwed your life up, that you’ve laid the groundwork for a future life of difficulty and hardship by some of your actions – but that’s just not true.

You will get through this and you will be stronger in the outcome.

Our decisions don’t always make our lives easier but salvation worked out by God does, no matter our circumstances.

The first thing that comes to most minds when hearing the word, salvation, is, “making a decision for Christ, accepting him as our Lord and Savior and acknowledging that all our sins are forgiven.” And that’s true and a beautiful gift from God.

But there’s a another promise in the word that brings more hope to even the hardest of situations.

Salvation, as defined by the Merriam-Webster dictionary, means the saving from danger or evil. It also means deliverance, rescue, recovery protection, security, safekeeping.

Biblically, in Hebrew and Greek, the word means ‘something saved’ as well as delivered, healed and helped. These are all dependent on God and our belief in him. But they aren’t just words to God. He actually makes them happen in our lives, if we let him.

As you know, I have some regrets and have made some poor choices. These decisions closed the doors to certain things happening in my life and opened up other doors to ways of living I never foresaw.

The lessons I’ve learned from my past include the knowledge that, even though we think are comfortable with our plans today, we can’t even begin to foresee or control the endless consequences that result from them.

The relief my heart feels at not having to experience hurt over the past anymore is wonderful. It’s freeing. It leaves me feeling like there are possibilities and a good outcome for me.

And it leaves me with a firm belief that a tangible God and father truly does exist and that he truly knows, loves and cares about me.

Jesus says in his word that he will chase after that one sheep that goes astray. He chased after me, protected me and cared for me despite my messes.

God gave me a good life and recreated something beautiful from my missteps … and, little lamb; he will do that for you.

“What man of you, having a hundred sheep, if he has lost one of them, does not leave the ninety-nine in the open country, and go after the one that is lost, until he finds it? And when he has found it, he lays it on his shoulders, rejoicing. And when he comes home, he calls together his friends and his neighbors, saying to them, “Rejoice with me, for I have found my sheep that was lost.” Luke 15:4-6

Photo of newborn lambs above by Trish Hisey. Thanks Trish! Love you!

Leave a Reply

